Thomas Schmidt, MdL
Member of
Saxon State Parliament (Constituency 22:
Mittelsachsen 5)
Minister for Regional Development, Free State of Saxony
Personal Data
Born on March 7th, 1961 in Burgstädt/Saxony
evangelical-lutheran, married, two children
1967-1977 | Polytechnic secondary school
1977-1980 | Abitur (A-levels) and vocational training
as an agro-technician
1982-1987 | University studies; graduate agricultural engineer (Diplom-Agrar-Ingenieur)
Professional Career
1987-1991 | Technical Manager of an agricultural producers' cooperative
1991-2014 | Chief Operating Officer of an agricultural company (GmbH)
2014-2019 | Minister for Environment and Agriculture, Free State of Saxony
since 2019 | Minister for Regional Development, Free State of Saxony
Party Memberships and Posts
1985 | Member of DBD (Democratic Farmers' Party of Germany)
since 1990 | Member of CDU (Christian Democratic Union of Germany)
since 1990 | Chairman of the local CDU party branch in Taura
1995-2008 | Deputy Chairman and Chairman of the Mittweida district CDU branch
1999-2010 | Member of the Taura Municipal Council
since 2004 | Member of the Saxon State Parliament
2009-2014 | Deputy Chairman of the Committee for Environment and Agriculture of the Saxon
State Parliament
2010-2013 | Chairman of the Enquete Commission on "Strategies for a future-oriented
technology and innovation policy in the Free State of Saxony", Saxon State Parliament
Member of the Executive Board, CDU Saxony
2011-2014 | Deputy Chairman, CDU Parliamentary Group in the Saxon State Parliament
since 2020 | Member of the European Committee of the Regions
Member of the Commission for Economic Policy (ECON)
Member of the Commission for the Environment, Climate Change and Energy (ENVE)
Member of the German Delegation and the EPP-Group in the CoR
Member of the Automotive Intergroup (CoRAI)
Honorary Posts
Member of the Executive Board of the CDU Saxony
Member of the Board of Trustees of the “Fraunhofer Institute for Electronic Nanosystems” (ENAS), Chemnitz
Vice-Chairman of the Agrarsoziale Gesellschaft e.V. (Agro-Social Society)